Board of County Commissioners

Dan Sutton 
Vice Chair, District 1 

Dan Sutton

Dan Sutton Contact & Biography

Kyle Steinburg
Member, District 2

Kyle Steinburg

Kyle Steinburg Contact & Biography

Marc Straub
Chair, District 3

Marc Straub

Marc Straub Contact & Biography

Questions about the Wilkinson Planned Unit Development?

Find the Planning Commission meeting packet here. 

The recording of the Planning Commission meeting from April 13th, 2022  can be found here. 

Information regarding the Board of Commissioners closed record public meeting can be found here.

Why are the Commissioners not receiving public testimony?

This type of application is considered to be quasi-judicial, the appearance of fairness doctrine (RCW 42.36) applies as does the restrictions adopted under regulatory reform (RCW 36.70B).  The first prohibits the Commissioners from considering any information that was not gathered through the public review process during the Planning Commission Meeting held on April 13th, 2022.  The latter restricts the county to one open record public hearing.   The May 24 closed record hearing is open to the public but no further public testimony, either verbal or written, will be taken

About the County Commissioners

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners is the legislative authority for Douglas County and is responsible for the overall administration of Douglas County government. The Board is responsible for the adoption of an annual budget, levies taxes and appropriates all funds for expenditure. The Board of Commissioners:

  • Adopts land use policies and development regulations for unincorporated areas
  • Enacts ordinances
  • Enters into governmental contracts and agreements
  • Establishes policies
  • Makes appointments to advisory committees
  • Responsible for assuring that County facilities and roads are constructed and maintained


People working at a deskOther Governmental Bodies Service

Members of the Board of Commissioners also serve on other governmental bodies such as the Chelan-Douglas Health District Board of Health, LINK (public transit) Board, Chelan-Douglas Transportation Council, Upper Columbia Salmon Recovery Board, Homeless Steering Committee, Rivercom Board, Martin Hall Juvenile Detention Facility Board, North Central Washington Economic Development District and the Washington State Association of Counties Legislative Steering Committee . The Board represents Douglas County at various intergovernmental forums and community events.

Washington Counties Map

Further Information

Tiana Rowland, Clerk of the Board, can provide you with additional information about the Board's schedule. She may be contacted by calling the Commissioners' Office at 509-745-8537


There are three Commissioner districts with an approximate equal portion of the population of the County in each. As the regional government within Douglas County, the Board of Commissioners represents citizens in both the incorporated areas of the cities/towns and the unincorporated area of the county. Commissioners are elected to staggered four-year terms. Contact the Auditor's Office for information on which district you reside in.

Voter Districts Map

Black and white photo of a barn

Forms & Documents

  1. Meeting Calendar
  2. Agendas & Minutes

May 2022

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
View All Events