The Auditor's Office has contracted with the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) to provide counter access to DOL transactions. Many topics listed here are linked to the DOL site, where the explanations are particularly thorough.
In Washington all licensed vehicles, vessels and trailers carry a one-year license. Registration can only be renewed in full-year increments and can be purchased up to 6 months in advance. You may select from the following three renewal options.
Online: You can renew tabs online. Your tabs will arrive several days faster than if you mail us your renewal. Your tabs and plates can either be mailed to you or held for office pickup at your specification. They will be available for pickup the first workday after ordering.
Mail: Please allow 3-10 days processing time. If your expiration date is closer than 10 days, please consider renewing either via the internet or in person.
In Person: When visiting in person, bring along your ID and renewal notice or plate number. Tabs can be legally sold only to the registered owner or an immediate family member with same last name. Others must present a note signed by a registered owner and specifying the vehicle's plate or VIN number along with the name of the individual picking up the tabs. If paying by check, the check must be in the name of the registered owner.
Turnaround Time: We will mail your duplicate tabs within 3-10 days of receipt.
Tip: If submitting the Affidavit of Loss via mail, signatures must be notarized. If visiting an office in person, there is no need because we will be able to witness your signatures on the form. Bring ID.
Paper notices of renewal are generated and mailed from the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) in Olympia approximately 3 weeks prior to registration expiration. If you didn't receive your notice, you can still renew by supplying us with the plate number either online or in person. To estimate renewal fees, please visit the renewal page of DOL site.
You are given the opportunity to place an order for a Discover Pass while purchasing annual licensing for most vehicle types. Orders are ultimately fulfilled by the state and should arrive 7-10 days by mail. If you have not received a Discover Pass purchased through DOL within 10 days, please call 1-844-271-7041 or logon to www.mydiscoverpass.com. If you would like to receive the Discover Pass immediately, one can be purchased wherever hunting and fishing licenses are sold.
Federal Odometer laws have increased the age of vehicles requiring odometer statement to 20 years. During the period where this change is phased in, model year 2011 will be the most recent year requiring an odometer statement until we reach the year 2031. At that point, the transition to a 20-year requirement will be complete, and model year 2011 will age out of the requirement. From that point forward, all vehicles aged 19 years and newer will require an odometer statement.
Request for fee estimate
To obtain an estimate of taxes and fees for a transfer, please email us the following information: